Event Archives

Vadym Kholodenko

Ukrainian pianist Vadym Kholodenko captured the attention of the global music press a decade ago when he took home the Gold Medal in the prestigious Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. He has appeared on the world’s leading stages with top orchestras and conductors, but he brings his trademark breadth of repertoire to Duke Arts with a solo recital.   

With a program spanning over 250 years, Kholodenko opens with a suite by Handel which is perceived to be one of the main pillars of the Baroque composer’s keyboard music. Audiences will also be treated to sonatas by Haydn and Beethoven, both a slight break from the composers’ usual compositional approaches. Kholodenko shows his technical prowess and bold programming with Thomas Adès’s Traced Overhead, the longest of the British composer’s solo piano works – all profoundly expressive and immensely colorful. Phrases tumble over one another in a uniquely contemporary soundworld. Kholodenkho finally returns to the Romantic stylings of Liszt, with pieces from his masterful Années de pèlerinage, or ‘Years of Pilgrimage’.  


This event is part of our Piano Recital Series. Subscriptions are on sale now for the full series. Purchase all four Piano Recital Series events and save 20% off single ticket prices, access the best seat locations and receive a 15% discount on all other events in the Duke Arts Presents season (some exceptions may apply). 


Save 20% when you buy any 4 or more events from Duke Arts Presents. Book now.

Log in here to access employee and student discounts. 


Handel: Suite in B-flat Major, HWV 434 
Haydn: Sonata in C-sharp minor, Hob XVI:36 
Beethoven: Sonata No. 27 in e minor, op. 90
Adès: Traced Overhead (1996)
Liszt: Après une lecture de Dante from Années de pèlerinage, II (Italy) 
Liszt: Tarantella in G Minor from Années de pèlerinage, II (Italy)

  • $47
  • $35
  • $10Duke Students
  • Sun, Oct 22, 2023 at 7:00pm
Baldwin Auditorium