Event Archives

Alexander String Quartet

The first American ensemble to win the London International String Competition, San Francisco’s Alexander String Quartet is “one of those estimable groups who treat both composers and audiences with uncommon respect” (San Francisco Examiner). This is apparent in a thoughtful and thorough Duke Performances program that begins at the 18th-century origins of the string quartet, leaps forward to a 20th-century Shostakovich masterpiece, and then doubles back to the 19th-century with Schubert. Growing “deep in its element, firm in its stride” (LA Times), one of the West Coast’s premier string quartet only keeps getting better.

MOZART: String Quartet No. 23 in F Major, K. 590
SHOSTAKOVICH: String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 108
SCHUBERT: String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810, Death and the Maiden

  • Sat, Apr 27, 2013 at 8:00pm
Reynolds Industries Theater