Skip to main content

Congratulations to the 2021 Robert E. Pristo Filmmaking Award Winners

Published By Duke Arts / published on: April 11, 2021

Congratulations to the 2021 awardees receiving the Robert E. Pristo Filmmaking Award, established in 2019 to support student filmmakers.

dslr video camera

Four Duke University students have been selected to receive a Robert E. Pristo Filmmaking Award in Spring 2021.

Established in 2019, the Robert E. Pristo Filmmaking Awards provide funding for production and/or post-production expenses related to film-related projects proposed or in progress by Duke undergraduate and graduate students.  The awards are named in honor of Robert E. Pristo, and the generous gift of The Robert E. Pristo Foundation, who wished to support student filmmaking and encourage film students to create, innovate, explore and achieve.

Congratulations to the 2021 awardees!

Sarah Derris (Visual and Media Studies) for “Nostalgia and the Countryside.”

Anya Dombrovskaya (Philosophy) for “Usya: Soviet Motherhood Through Generations.”

Emma Geiger (MFA, Experimental and Documentary Arts) for “Living Lightly.”

Miranda Gershoni (Literature) for “Destabilizing White.”

Header photo by James Robinson.