Event Archives

Yuja Wang, Piano

Note: Ms. Wang will substitute Bartók’s Sonata BB 88 for Stravinsky’s Three Movements from Petrushka as the closing piece on her recital.

Yuja Wang is “quite simply, the most dazzlingly, uncannily gifted pianist in the concert world today,” says the San Francisco Chronicle. Though the Chinese-born prodigy made headlines with her flamboyant fashion and lightning-fast encores, there is nothing showy about her musicianship. Wang “has proved herself a sensitive and probing artist,” notes the New York Times.

Yuja Wang’s Duke Performances debut, the first piano recital at the reinvigorated Baldwin Auditorium, centers on the extraordinary music Chopin composed for the instrument: from contemplative nocturnes to triumphant fantasies. His third sonata, with its journey from refined opening to bravura finale, makes a perfect showcase for the mix of effortless virtuosity and deep intelligence that makes Wang the next piano superstar.

Prokofiev: Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 28
Chopin: Sonata No. 3 in B Minor, Op. 58
Chopin: Nocturne No. 1 in C minor, Op. 48
Chopin: Ballade No. 3 in A-flat Major, Op. 47
Kapustin: Variations for Piano, Op. 41
Bartók: Sonata BB 88 (Sz. 80)

  • Thu, Oct 24, 2013 at 8:00pm
Baldwin Auditorium