Event Archives

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra with Angela Hewitt & Christopher Taylor

Conducted by the musicians themselves, the 20-piece Orpheus is an experiment in radical democracy that is also among the finest orchestras on earth, turning out collaborative art that joins visceral energy with keen interpretive balance.  Their majesty is complemented by Hewitt, whose incandescent turn on the Goldberg Variations transfixed Duke audiences last year.  NEW ADDITION: Two piano soloists.  Christopher Taylor will join Orpheus for Peter Maxwell Davies’ new piece “Sea Orpheus“.  On the same program, Angela Hewitt will perform Bach’s Concerto for Piano and Strings in D Minor with Orpheus.

“Orpheus Chamber Orchestra concerts are invariably memorable. But after 37 years, nobody wonders how they perform their miracles without a conductor. The concerts are fascinating because the programs are so unique.”

“The richness of [Hewitt’s] playing lies in the complete merging of structure, tone and poetry; each supports, enlightens and strengthens the others, and becomes indistinguishable from them.”
–Berliner Zeitung

“The young pianist Christopher Taylor is so talented it’s almost frightening”
–Boston Globe

Stravinsky: Concerto in D Major for String Orchestra, “Basel Concerto”
Bach: Concerto for Piano and Strings in D Minor, BWV 1052
Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: “Sea Orpheus”
Dvořák: Serenade for Strings in E Major, Op. 22

  • Sat, Jan 30, 2010 at 8:00pm
Page Auditorium