Event Archives

Ciompi Quartet
Concert No. 4

The Ciompi Quartet closes its audacious 2013/14 season with a world premiere and two rediscovered classics. After a stirring account of legendary 19th century violin virtuoso Ernst’s string quartet, they debut a new work by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Melinda Wagner. Another world-class concert and season conclude as the Ciompi welcomes Durham-born piano prodigy Andrew Tyson and brilliant French violinist Gabriel Richard to play Chausson’s powerful 1892 Concerto, a gem from this composer’s short but dazzling career.

Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst: String Quartet in B-flat Major
Melinda Wagner: Premiere of a new commissioned string quartet (2014)
Chausson: Concerto in D Major, for Violin, Piano, and String Quartet, Op. 21 (with Andrew Tyson, piano & Gabriel Richard, violin)

  • Sat, Apr 19, 2014 at 8:00pm