Event Archives

Ciompi Quartet Concert No. 2

GUEST ARTISTS: John Brown, bass; Thomas Kraines, cello

Founded in 1965, the Ciompi has been Duke’s resident chamber ensemble for more than four decades, turing out bracing performances of new and classical programs with “genuine warmth” and “effortless…coordination” (NY Times).

MOZART: Serenade No. 13 for Strings in G Major, K. 525, “Eine Kleine Nachtmusik” (with John Brown, bass)
DAVID LIPTEN: “Ictus” for String Quartet (2000)
SCHUBERT: String Quintet in C Major, D. 956 (with Thomas Kraines, cello)

  • Fri, Nov 12, 2010 at 8:00pm
Nelson Music Room