Event Archives

China National Symphony Orchestra featuring Chuanyun Li, violin

At a time when large-scale classical music is unprecedentedly popular in China, Duke Performances proudly presents the China National Symphony Orchestra, an ascendant 90-piece ensemble internationally hailed as “a mature group with a vital sound” (The Times [UK]).

Chinese classical cornerstones make up the first half: the world-famous Butterfly Lovers’ Violin Concerto is for Western-style orchestra with Chinese violin techniques, courtesy of brilliant young soloist Chuanyun Li. Xia Guan’s Earth Requiem is a solemn yet uplifting elegy for an earthquake-ravaged Sichuan Province.

The second half turns west to Beethoven, whose cherished Symphony No. 7 in A Major is a “floodtide of inspired invention,” says esteemed critic Anthony Hopkins. For classical music lovers, here is an opportunity to go beyond Europe with a diligent, skyrocketing ensemble.

XIA GUAN: First Movement of Earth Requiem
ZHANHAO HE/GANG CHEN: Butterfly Lovers’ Violin Concerto (w/ Chuanyun Li, violin)
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92

  • Thu, Feb 7, 2013 at 8:00pm
Page Auditorium