Event Archives

Calefax Reed Quintet

The Calefax Reed Quintet, a unique reed ensemble from Amsterdam, has distinguished itself with its imaginative transcriptions that reach back to the Middle Ages, its “spectacular sound that draws in the audience” (El País), and its lively unseated performances.

Spanning 400 years, the program begins with a transcription of J.S. Bach’s Prelude & Fugue in E-flat Major from The Well Tempered Clavier. The ensemble reaches back to the 15th century for the lamentations of Johannes Ockeghem’s motet chanson Mort tu as navré, and then offers the 16th century consort music of Christopher Tye, which once reverberated in the courts of Elizabethan England. Moving forward to the 19th and 20th centuries, the shimmering Prelude, Chorale, and Fugue of César Franck is followed by three of Conlon Nancarrow’s Studies for Player Piano, incorporating elements of blues, boogie-woogie, and the composer’s own abstract style, and initially deemed too fast and too rhythmically complex for live performance. The evening concludes with selections from Shostakovich’s Preludes & Fugues, the Russian composer’s tribute to J.S. Bach.

Johannes Ockeghem (arr. Raaf Hekkema): Mort tu as navré
J.S. Bach (arr. J. Althuis): Prelude & Fugue No. 7 in E-flat Major fromThe Well-Tempered Clavier Book II, BWV 876
C. Franck (arr. J. Althuis): Prélude, Fugue, et Variation
Selection of composers (Shostakovich, Pärt, Händel & Gijsbrecht Roijé): A brief introduction to the fugue
C. Nancarrow (arr. R. Hekkema): Studies No. 2, No. 15 & No. 3c
D. Shostakovich (arr. E. Wesly): Preludes and Fugues, op. 87
No. 1 in C Major
No. 2 in A Minor
No. 3 in G Major
No. 4 in E Minor
No. 7 in A Major
No. 8 in F-sharp Minor
No. 9 in E Major
No. 12 in G-sharp Minor

  • Sat, Jan 24, 2015 at 8:00pm
Baldwin Auditorium