Event Archives

Artists-in-Residence: Cuarteto Casals


Characterized by “intense focus and a striking unanimity of gesture” (The New York Times), Cuarteto Casals is the first Spanish string quartet to achieve a genuinely international profile. They visit Duke with a program of three treasures of the standard repertoire, rendered with their unmistakable brand of bold and expressive playing.

The afternoon of their Chamber Arts Series performance, Cuarteto Casals will lead a chamber music master class with Duke student musicians in Baldwin Auditorium.

Saturday, October 17, 12 PM
Baldwin Auditorium, Duke East Campus
Free & open to the public

Schubert: String Quartet in D Minor, D. 810 (1824) “Death and the Maiden”
Andante con moto

Zoe Kang & Brian Chan, violins
Jiyun Yoon, viola
Jason Ng, cello

Shostakovich: Piano Quintet in G Minor, op. 57 (1940)
Prelude: Lento
Fugue: Adagio

Kiyoon Ko & Han Kang, violins
Noah Martin, viola
Brian Buhr, cello
Sasha Voinov, piano

Presented in collaboration with the Duke Department of Music.

  • Sat, Oct 17, 2015 at 12:00pm
Baldwin Auditorium