Skip to main content

About

DukeCreate is a free arts workshop series for the Duke community taught by local artists and students in the MFA EDA program. Workshop topics emphasize skill development and practical experience in ceramics, screen printing, painting and drawing, photography, and digital media. DukeCreate workshops are offered in the Arts Annex, with the exception of most digital media workshops, which are offered in the Rubenstein Arts Center.

How to Sign Up

Registration for DukeCreate workshops opens at the start of each month, and workshops are offered September–November and January–March. Preview full schedule below and sign up here.

Fall 2018 Workshops

Registration opens at the start of each month. Please note that these dates may change. Check the Facebook calendar for the latest schedule.

Weeknight workshops are 6–8pm.
Community workshops are Sundays, 2–4pm.

DIGITAL MEDIA

Rubenstein Arts Center (Computer Lab 234)
(In collaboration with the Innovation Co-Lab Roots Program)
Intro to Lightroom and Photoshop
Wed, Sept 26
Intro to Installation Art
Wed, Oct 3
Backpack Filmmaker
Wed, Oct 10
360 Degree Photography
Wed, Oct 24
The Art of the Portrait
Wed, Nov 7

CERAMICS

Arts Annex
Thurs, Sept 6
Thurs, Sept 13
Thurs, Sept 20
Mon, Sept 24
Thurs, Sept 27
Thurs, Oct 4
Thurs, Oct 11
Thurs, Oct 18
Thurs, Oct 25
Mon, Oct 29
Thurs, Nov 1
Thurs, Nov 8
Thurs, Nov 15
Mon, Nov 19
Thurs, Nov 29

DRAWING

Arts Annex
Wed, Sept 12
Fri, Oct 12
Fri, Nov 9

PAINTING

Arts Annex
Wed, Oct 3
Wed, Oct 24
Wed, Nov 14

SCREEN PRINTING

Arts Annex
Mon, Sept 17
Mon, Oct 1
Mon, Oct 15
Fri, Nov 2
Mon, Nov 12

SPECIAL

(Unique topics announced month-of on Facebook
Arts Annex
Fri, Sept 14
Fri, Sept 28
Fri, Oct 5
Fri, Oct 19
Fri, Oct 26

COMMUNITY

Arts Annex, Sundays, 2–4pm
(Open to anyone ages 18 & up;
ages 12–18 must be accompanied by an adult.)

Screen printing, Sept 23
Special topic, Oct 21
Screen printing, Nov 18

Duke Staff and Faculty:

Duke staff and faculty can also take DukeCreate workshops! Save the date for the programs you are interested in, and if space allows—and it often does!—staff can register day-of at the workshop link below. You can also try showing up to the workshop in case there is an available spot.

Community Workshops:

Each semester, DukeCreate offers a number of free workshops for the Burch Avenue neighborhood and the wider community. Check out the upcoming workshops below; no registration is required for community events.

DukeCreate is sponsored by the Office of the Vice Provost for the Arts—Duke Arts and University Center Activities and Events (UCAE), in cooperation with the Arts Annex, duARTS, VisARTS, and #artstigators.