Council for the Arts

The Council's charge is to advise the Provost on policy and resource issues in the arts, to promote collaborative activity and programming among professional, academic, and student arts organizations at Duke and in the Durham community, to provide a forum for the exchange of information between arts organizations at Duke, to promote interdisciplinary projects in the arts, to select the recipient of the Sudler Award in the Arts, and to report annually to the Provost on the state of the arts at Duke and progress toward goals and objectives. The committee typically meets once a month.

Among the Council's principal tasks is administering two grant programs.

Collaboration Development Grants are offered to faculty members who wish to collaborate on new artistic work with artists or faculty members in their own or different disciplines. Grant applications are evaluated once each semester by a subcommittee of the Council for the Arts, who propose the results to the full Council.  Grants are awarded by the Provost and Vice Provost for the Arts upon the Council’s recommendation.

Visiting Artist Grants support projects that will enrich the life of the university and broader community, augment the curricular efforts of a range of departments and programs, facilitate the interaction of artists and scholars, foster the reputation of Duke as a place where the arts are vital and diverse, and contribute to the arts as a whole. Applications are reviewed once per year during the spring semester by a committee appointed by the Vice Provost for the Arts, which presents its recommendations to the Council for the Arts for ratification. Upon the Council’s recommendation, grants are awarded by the Vice Provost for the Arts in consultation with the Provost.

Council for the Arts Membership Roster 2016-17

Sarah Beckwith
Chair, Department of English

Jeremy Begbie (Spring Semester)
Thomas A. Langford Research Professor of Theology, Divinity School

Jennifer Chambers ‘01
Director, Alumni Education, Duke Alumni Association

Sheila Dillon
Chair, Department of Art, Art History & Visual Studies

Eric Ferreri
Senior Writer, Office of News & Communications

Lydia Greene
Graduate and Professional Student Council representative

Aaron Greenwald
Executive Director, Duke Performances

Angela Greenwald
Director, Interdisciplinary Initiatives, Duke University Development Office

Chandra Guinn
Director, Mary Lou Williams Center for Black Culture

Wesley Hogan
Director, Center for Documentary Studies

Guo-Juin Hong
Arts of the Moving Image

Deborah Jenson
Director, Franklin Humanities Institute

Scott Lindroth
Vice Provost for the Arts & Professor of Music

Lisa McCarty
Curator, Archive of Documentary Arts, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Charlotte McKay
duArts President

Ted Mott (alternate for Tom Rankin)
Assistant Director, MFA in Experimental and Documentary Arts

Luke Powery
Dean of Duke Chapel & Associate Professor of the Practice of Homiletics, Duke Divinity School

Nimmi Ramanujam
Robert W. Carr, Jr., Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Thomas Rankin (on leave)
Director, Master of Fine Arts in Experimental and Documetary Arts

Christopher Roby
Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs & Director, University Center Activities & Events

Lou Rollins
Executive Assistant, Office of Durham and Regional Affairs

Philip Rupprecht
Chair, Department of Music

Sarah Schroth
Director, Nasher Museum of Art

Purnima Shah
Director, Dance Program

Jeff Storer
Chair, Department of Theater Studies

Sharon Swanson
Program Coordinator, Health Arts Network at Duke

Gennifer Weisenfeld
Dean of the Humanities

Duke Student Government representative

Graduate and Professional Student Council representative

For more information on the Council for the Arts, contact the Office of the Vice Provost for the Arts, 919.684-0540 or email